# Special Meeting (Monday, July 8, 2024)

Generated by Kristopher Williamson on Monday, July 8, 2024

### Members present

Janet Griffin, Lori Megivern, Brett Barnes, Donald Chu, Joseph McMahon, Sherlyn Pallassino **Members absent**Christine Gregory

Meeting called to order at 11:30 AM

# 1. Opening of Meeting

**Procedural: 1.1 Call to Order** 

Procedural: 1.2 Pledge of Allegiance

Kristopher Williamson called the meeting to order and the Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

### Procedural: 1.3 Recite Board Norms

Kristopher Williamson recited the Board Norms.

### 2. Communications

### **Procedural: 2.1 Audience Participation**

There were no requests to address the Board.

### 3. Old Business

### Action: 3.1 Nominations for President of the Board of Education

Janet Griffin nominated Brett Barnes for President of the Board of Education, seconded by Joseph McMahon.

Lori Megivern nominated Donald Chu for President of the Board of Education, seconded by Sherlyn Pallassino.

There was a roll call vote as follows:

Brett Barnes voted for Brett Barnes
Donald Chu voted for Donald Chu
Janet Griffin voted for Brett Barnes
Joseph McMahon voted for Brett Barnes
Lori Megivern voted for Donald Chu
Sherlyn Pallassino voted for Donald Chu

With 3 members in favor of Brett Barnes and 3 members in favor of Donald Chu, a President was not elected.

Donald Chu made a motion prior to the roll call vote to ask candidates questions before a vote was conducted, which was seconded by Lori Megivern.

Motion by Donald Chu, second by Lori Megivern.

**Motion Failed** 

Yes: Lori Megivern, Donald Chu, Sherlyn Pallassino No: Janet Griffin, Brett Barnes, Joseph McMahon

### Action: 3.2 Nominations for Vice President of the Board of Education

Brett Barnes nominated Joseph McMahon for Vice President of the Board of Education, seconded by Janet Griffin.

Lori Megivern nominated Donald Chu for Vice President of the Board of Education, seconded by Sherlyn Pallassino.

There was a roll call vote as follows:

Brett Barnes voted for Joseph McMahon Donald Chu voted for Donald Chu Janet Griffin voted for Joseph McMahon Joseph McMahon voted for Joseph McMahon Lori Megivern voted for Donald Chu Sherlyn Pallassino voted for Donald Chu

With 3 members in favor of Joseph McMahon and 3 members in favor of Donald Chu, a Vice President was not elected.

### Procedural: 3.3 Administration of Oath of Office to School Board President and Vice President

No oaths were administered since no President or Vice President was elected.

#### 4. Personnel Action

**Action: 4.1 Approval of Personnel Action** 

BE IT RESOLVED, that upon the recommendation of Mr. Robert Edwards, Superintendent of Schools, that the Cortland Enlarged City School District Board of Education accept the approval of personnel action as presented.

Motion by Janet Griffin, second by Joseph McMahon.

Final Resolution: Motion Carried

Yes: Janet Griffin, Lori Megivern, Brett Barnes, Donald Chu, Joseph McMahon, Sherlyn Pallassino

#### 5. Executive Session

Action: 5.1 Proposed Executive Session Motion to convene into executive session.

Motion by Donald Chu, second by Janet Griffin.

Final Resolution: Motion Carried

Yes: Janet Griffin, Lori Megivern, Brett Barnes, Donald Chu, Joseph McMahon, Sherlyn Pallassino

Action: 5.2 Reconvene In Open Session Motion to reconvene in open session.

Motion by Donald Chu, second by Joseph McMahon.

Final Resolution: Motion Carried

Yes: Janet Griffin, Lori Megivern, Brett Barnes, Donald Chu, Joseph McMahon, Sherlyn Pallassino

TIME: 12:44 PM

### 6. New Business

Action: 6.1 Resolution to approve or deny a grievance BE IT RESOLVED, that the Cortland Enlarged City School District Board of Education moves to deny a grievance presented to them.

Motion by Donald Chu, second by Janet Griffin.

Final Resolution: Motion Failed

Yes: Janet Griffin, Brett Barnes, Joseph McMahon No: Lori Megivern, Donald Chu, Sherlyn Pallassino

# 7. Closing of Meeting

Action: 7.1 Adjourn Motion to adjourn.

Motion by Donald Chu, second by Sherlyn Pallassino.

Final Resolution: Motion Carried

Yes: Janet Griffin, Lori Megivern, Brett Barnes, Donald Chu, Joseph McMahon, Sherlyn Pallassino

**TIME: 12:46 PM**